Back to search results

printable versionPrint this page

Roper Gulf Shire Council

Category: Organisation
Date: 1 July 2008
Sub Category:Local Government
State/Country:Northern Territory, Australia
Subject Matter:Local Government
Summary Information:
The Roper Gulf Shire Council was established 1st July 2008 as part of the large scale amalgamation process of particular community government councils in the Northern Territory. The existing community government councils were absorbed by eight new shire councils (Edgar, 247). The Roper Gulf Shire Council is responsible for the previous community government areas of Borroloola, Numbulwar Numburindi, Nyirranggulung Mardrulk Ngadberre, Yugul Mangi, Mataranka Community, Jilkminggan and a large area of currently unincorporated land, the Gulf, Roper Valley, Sturt Plateau and Southern Arnhem Land (Shire Website).
Detailed Information:
The Shire consists of 12 elected Councillors and is responsible for the delivery of a broad and unique range of services to their communities, with different communities within the Shire having their own different priorities (Shire website).

Related Entries

  • Roberts on behalf of the Najig and the Guyanggan Nganawirdbird Groups v Northern Territory of Australia (No 3) [2012] FCA 223 (Town of Mataranka)
  • Wavehill v Northern Territory of Australia [2013] FCA 1086
  • Morgan v Northern Territory of Australia [2013] FCA 1078
  • Organisation
  • Nyirranggulung Mardrulk Ngadberre Regional Council
  • Mataranka Community Government
  • Borroloola Community Council
  • Legislation
  • Local Government Act 2008 (NT)
  • People
  • Borroloola Indigenous Community
  • Place
  • Borroloola

  • Glossary

    Aboriginal Community Council (Australia) | Local Government

    Top of page

    Was this useful? Click here to fill in the ATNS survey